South Lyon Junior League

Travel – Boys

The travel baseball season runs from April 1 through mid July. Generally teams will practice/workout in the off season as well. Please direct any questions to Rich Robinson at sljltravel-boys@sljl.org.

Boys Travel Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to pre-register for the tryout?
No, there will be a waiver and registration form available at the field.

Do I need to attend both tryouts?
Attending both tryouts is strongly encouraged, however we understand busy schedules and vacations.  If you can’t make both please reach out to the age appropriate coach and let them know. Coaches for next season will be selected on July 16 and posted to the website, with email addresses the following day.

I’m not sure which age tryout my son should attend.
The age cutoff for boys travel baseball is May 1.  For example, if your son turns 11 on or before May 1 of 2016, he would want to tryout for the 11u team.

Are there multiple teams at each age group?
We do have 2 teams at some of the ages.  A decision to add another team at an age group is determined by many factors:  number of kids that attend the tryouts, a qualified coach being identified and field availability are the main determining factors.

How much does travel baseball cost?
The costs vary by team but average anywhere from $400-$800.  Most teams will do some fundraising to offset some of the costs.  This fee covers uniforms, umpires, tournament fees, off season training, team equipment etc.

What is the time commitment with travel baseball?
Most teams will conduct some off season training.  Some teams will start in the fall while others will plan on once a week indoor training after the holidays.  Our coaching staffs support and encourage your child to play other sports.  They are in no way penalized for missing offseason workouts if they are participating in another sport.   As the weather clears in March/April it is not uncommon to be doing team activities 2-3 days a week.  The season typically runs from April 1 thru July.  Weekend tournaments are quite common as well.

Please feel free to direct additional questions to sljltravel-boys@sljl.org

2017 Boys Travel Coaches

Boy’s Travel Teams 2018 Travel Coaches Personal Email Address
8u Thunder Josh Wells jwells3030@gmail.com
9u Thunder – Blue Pat Noonan patnoonan21@yahoo.com
9u Thunder – Red Jason Fox jasf101977@yahoo.com
10u Lightning Joe Jurkiewicz Joe.Jurkiewicz@ihsmarkit.com
10U Thunder Andy Slankster aslankster@center4fm.com
11U Thunder Don Mifsud dmifsud@muellerindustries.com
11U Lightning Lance Shipman lance@penchura.com
12U Thunder Mark Skrelja skrelja@att.net
12U Lightning Rob Brothers lush24@comcast.net
13U Thunder Mark Galardi mgalardi@wowway.com
13U Lightning Dean Phillips deanphil@mac.com
14U Thunder Dean Whitcomb dean.whitcomb@alliedbuilding.com
14U Lightning Matt Martin tomattm@ymail.com
15U Lightning Mike Petrovich jnmpetro@msn.com
16U Thunder Steve Keeney stevekeeney@ammc.com
18u Thunder Bobby Porter sthlynbobby@aol.com

Travel Trustee – Rich Robinson, SLJLTravel-Boys@SLJL.org